icon-facebook  icon-twitter    icon-rss

Graça Machel Scholarship for Women

iStock 000038642300Small

Educated African women - the seed for a blossoming Africa.


Launched in 2008, the Scholarship Programme, jointly managed by the Canon Collins Trust and the Graça Machel Trust, provides an opportunity for women from rural and disadvantaged backgrounds to access post-graduate studies. Each scholarship helps with the Trust’s mandate of increasing the visibility and influence of a new generation of highly qualified women. To date 68 women beneficiaries have completed post-graduate degrees in a variety of areas ranging from science and technology, to business and commerce, and the humanities. The Graça Machel scholars are linked with mentors from the Graça Machel network and alumni from the Canon Collins Trust network.



Are you eligible?

To apply for a scholarship under this programme you must be:

  • Female
  • A national of and normally resident in one of the SADC countries: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • In possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • Studying or applying to study at a South African university

What we offer

Full tuition, stipend and other support for Honours, Masters and PhD study at South African universities.

How to apply

The application process is now open and will close at 3 pm BST on 28 July 2014 for study commencing in 2015. Applicants must apply to their chosen universities separately and awards are conditional on the applicant being offered a place at the relevant university.

For more information go to http://www.canoncollins.org.uk/gracamachel.html